Open your eyes. Open your mind. Open Stellenbosch.

I attend a supposedly double-medium school. It was the school closest to my house and the only previously model-C school in my town. The school was split about 50-50, regarding the race of the learners, but that’s about where it stops. Classes were taught predominantly in Afrikaans, all announcements are made in Afrikaans, and no one had a clue about the English version of our school song, which was sung no more than twice a year.

In my entire high school career, there have been a total of two members of staff who were people of colour, both of whom were men. Year in and year out, places on the student councils and first teams were reserved for white students, with one or two spots for students of colour. I can go on and on about the institutionalised racism still prevalent three years after I’ve left, but the one thing that haunts me the most, is being called “coloured” like it was my name.

Yes, “coloured.” That’s the way the white students referred to us. Supposed to be a joke, but labelling us with inferiority every chance they got. Blatantly reminding us that we can be friends, but we will never be equals. One of the main reasons I refused to attend the University of Stellenbosch. I knew what it was like and I wasn’t going to lead my whole life being reminded that I’ll always be second best.

When watching the Open Stellenbosch – Luister documentary, I was overwhelmed by emotion. I was glad that people are finally speaking up, angered that this is still happening, and empathetic, because I knew how they felt.

But then I was furious! White people are blatantly questioning the events mentioned in the documentary and demanding proof of these incidents. HAVE YOU NO SHAME IN BEING THIS IGNORANT!? These acts of racism happen so often, that you have been conditioned to see it as normal. Perhaps if you weren’t so blinded by your white privilege, you too would be able to see it.

White privilege also means that you assume that the University of Stellenbosch belongs to you, and that those who do not agree with its policies should leave. – Wrong. The university belongs to South Africa and all those who live here.

I’ve read countless posts saying that the protestors should learn to compromise. They are. They just aren’t met halfway. These students aren’t asking to be taught in their mother tongues, they are asking to be taught in English, a language that would be mutually beneficial to all. Unfortunately so many students are used to having things easy and done their way, that they are the ones not willing to let go of their privilege.

Another argument I’ve been confronted with is that we should all be equal regardless of the past. The past has happened, and ignoring it won’t fix the countless injustices instilled upon people of colour. “But it’s already been 21 years!” No. Twenty one years is simply not enough. As President Lyndon Johnson said in 1965, “You do not take a person who, for years, has been hobbled by chains and liberate him, bring him up to the starting line of a race and then say you are free to compete with all the others, and still just believe that you have been completely fair.”

We can overcome this struggle together. Just open your eyes, open your mind, and LUISTER.

Leave a comment